Good afternoon, dear sawers, I need your advice

TheBlindMonk

Hello, my name is Alexander, I work as a barman, almost all my free time I dedicate to cosplay and crafting of the necessary equipment for festivals. I craft not for sale, just for myself. I'm new to this and I can not boast of special achievements. I'm learning how to craft of tutorials that I find on the Internet from experienced cosplayers. At the last festival, I had to make a blade of Talon character from the League of Legends game. (In the attachment I add pictures of a blade, some photos as I did it and a photo from festival). I was advised to use a material called styrene foam. Simply the insulation sheets that are used when laying the floor. This is a very light material that is easy to handle. During the creation and during the festival, I noticed to my displeasure quite a few small things that made me think about using other materials.
Pros of polyurethane foam
- it is very light, you can do very large and huge things, huge swords, sledgehammers, etc. Not fearing that you can not then raise it.
- It is very easy to form it, you can cut out the necessary details with a simple office knife, and give the desired shape using a trihedral file.
- Availability - you can buy it in any building shop and it costs quite a bit.
Minuses:
-Very fragile and soft - it is necessary additionally to reinforce it with a primer or epoxy resin to give hardness.
-Difficulties in painting - as easy it is to mold,  as difficult to paint it after - ordinary paints corrode this material, you have to use a lot of layers of primer or spread a few layers of glue on a rubber base.

Given all of the above, I decided to try to make the next craft of wood.