painters tape

nancy

Hello, Im new to the sight and have a question. I have always used spray adhesive directly on wood for pattern placement. This works well, but hard to sand off. I read that using painters tape on wood then using spray adhesive is better because it lubes the blade and easier to remove paper. Does anyone use this method and does it work well when cutting very, very small intricate pieces? Thanks bunch for any input.

Hi Nancy, and welcome to the Village !..When I first started scrolling I used painters tape on all my projects...then I started to glue directly to the wood like a lot of the folks in the Village do....I am now using the tape about 75% of the time...I find sanding the finished  product easier ....I have become very cautious when removing the tape from intricate projects, slow and easy is my motto...just my two cents...Steve.

Edited by Scrolling Steve

Hi Newbie, I also use spray adhesive but on more complicated patterns or stack cutting, I will use Scrolleronline's 2 sided tape. It is expensive and I will use scraps and piece them together for maximum usage. Either method to apply, it's well worth in investing in a good wooden or hard rubber wallpaper seam roller to adhere the pattern to the wood. As to removal of patterns, I don't care for sanding but use either mineral spirits or "Off" in a well ventilated space. Patterns come right up and could be used again. Another method is to use a heat gun. It also works well but one of the chemicals is still the best way to get off the glue off the wood. Hope that helps.

Welcome to the forum from TN.  I don't use painter tape.  I print my patterns on contact paper.  It peels off with a little work and there is no residue.