Scroll sawing is completely foreign to me...

BBerguson

I've been woodworking for about 23 years and have a fairly large dedicated wood shop. Recently, I started cutting out some "Christmas" trees on my bandsaw for a project I've been wanted to do for about 2 years. I wanted to cut about 400 of them to start with to build 100 of the items so I needed some help. My 11 year old daughter, being the crafty person she is started helping me and I trained her how to use the band saw to cut the trees. She was doing a great job until momma found out... She was too afraid of her cutting herself on the saw (and yes, I was worried too, she is a true Daddy's girl afterall and I pity the fool that ever hurts her... :-). ). Anyways, It was decided that it was too dangerous even though she was great at keeping her little fingers out of the way. It just wasn't worth it.

So, what to do... Maybe a scroll saw would work. I started doing some research on saws, projects, blades, videos and forums, which brought me here! To say that I'm impressed with the talent here would be an understatement but it's all I've got right now with the little to nothing I know about scrolling. But, I'm impressed!!! I think I found the right place to help me (and my daughter) get started.

What do I know about scroll saws and scrolling? I just told you... NOTHING! I have never even touched a a scroll saw let alone used one. My researching (and budget) keeps pointing me towards a Dewalt 788 and I haven't really read anything to convince me I'm wrong. I think it would be any easy saw to work with for me and my daughter and ultimately, she's the one that counts...

So, any advice and or help in my journey would be appreciated.

Bryan

Bryan., That is the best introduction I have ever read. Perfect introduction showing the possibilities

of owning "two' scroll saws. A real "LOL" and big smile on my face. 

A scroll saw is the perfect tool (IMHO). You cannot do all that a scrollsaw offers.