New to the Group - The Scroll Troll

David Lehner

Hello

I have been scrolling for about 15 years.... I started after a RIF (reduction in force) I was a Gen Mgr at a Chrysler/ Toyota Dealership. I found my self with a lot of time on my hands so started carving spirit faces in cottonwood bark and basswood blocks... I bought a scroll saw to make bulk cuts in the basswood to facilitate carving.

Found some simple wildlife patterns and the rest is history

I live in a 15 room, 108 year old house in Minot ND. I had my scroll shop in the basement. In 2011 we had a devastating flood and we were out of our house for about 8 months waiting for water to go down (about 6 weeks) and the rest of the time rebuilding house and garage. I have  3 stall garage and then added a second story and took one stall for my shop. heated and insulated.

For may years I did craft shows and actually did quite well. After the flood I decided that I wanted to create things that were a challenge .... not worry about if it would sell or not.

I moved on to large clocks as you can see by my FB page - The Scroll Troll and my website - www.thescrolltroll.com

I am always looking for new and interesting patterns ... I look forward to participating in the group. The two clocks are from Wilckins Woodworking. The Alphabet Clock (Hannah Clock) I made for her wedding present

post-31333-0-20415700-1487707522_thumb.jpgpost-31333-0-61020400-1487707535_thumb.jpgpost-31333-0-66301100-1487707547_thumb.jpg

Edited by The Scroll Troll

Hello

I have been scrolling for about 15 years.... I started after a RIF (reduction in force) I was a Gen Mgr at a Chrysler/ Toyota Dealership. I found my self with a lot of time on my hands so started carving spirit faces in cottonwood bark and basswood blocks... I bought a scroll saw to make bulk cuts in the basswood to facilitate carving.

Found some simple wildlife patterns and the rest is history