Homemade Dust Collection with Box Fan - Just Saying...

stevan

If you buy a box fan to duct tape a filter to for homemade dust control, you may want to be sure to buy one with the controls on the top or on the side of the fan.

Not on the back...

Where they will be covered by the filter...

And you have to cut a hole in the filter to access said controls....

Just saying.....

I am in the planning stages for a shop and trying to figure out just what I may need.  for some things, I just roll the equipment out side and let the breeze take the dust away.  I know that will not work on bad weather days.  I have no experience with actual dust collectors, just shop vacs.  Are the dust collectors that much better?  

I am in the planning stages for a shop and trying to figure out just what I may need.  for some things, I just roll the equipment out side and let the breeze take the dust away.  I know that will not work on bad weather days.  I have no experience with actual dust collectors, just shop vacs.  Are the dust collectors that much better?

I'm not sure if a full blown $250 dust collector is any better than my $20 box fan and $10 furnace filter. But for now, I want to be careful and this is cheap lung insurance. I also use my shop vac.

I am going to wake some old timers memories with this one. It is still made and is still a good option for those that want that portable dust collector. This was used by so many years ago when it first came out. 

https://images.samsclubresources.com/is/image/samsclub/0002628210300_A?wid=1500&hei=1500&qlt=80&op_sharpen=1

I am going to wake some old timers memories with this one. It is still made and is still a good option for those that want that portable dust collector. This was used by so many years ago when it first came out. 

https://images.samsclubresources.com/is/image/samsclub/0002628210300_A?wid=1500&hei=1500&qlt=80&op_sharpen=1

John I think Steve Good uses this.