Hi Everyone!

KtownScroller

Hello - I go by the name KtownScroller. Some of you know me by my real name Rick. I have been scroll sawing for about 9 months. I learn something new every day. I have tried cutting portraits, animal puzzles, picture puzzles and various patterns that I have gotten from scroll saw magazines. Although I am new to woodworking, I have a strong background in machining, both manual and CNC. My expertise and first love is lathe work and turning. Other than turning I have written CNC programs for lathes and turning centers. Years ago I owned a wood lathe, but gave that up as I found it to be quite dangerous. Using skews and gouges poses dangers not found with industrial machine tools. My second love is cutting gears. I have enjoyed cutting spur, worm and helical gears, as well as sprockets. My machining background fits in well with scroll sawing, because both types of work involve being very creative. Of course scroll sawing does not present the demands found in machining. I suppose that is why scroll sawing is so much fun. I love a challenge and revel in accomplishment. I would love to design and produce a 32 piece chess set. I also like to make goofy gadgets. I hate fretwork and don't have the patience to thread the blade through 100's of holes just to cut a project. I have written a program called "Pattern Calculator 2." The software calculates percentages to reduce or enlarge patterns. This comes in handy when the pattern does not fit the piece of wood. Members of this forum are welcome to a copy of my program upon request. The cost is FREE! Well I babbled enough for now. I hope to participate in interesting conversation here at the Scroll Saw Village.