Hi all, newbie here

Dave M

Hi guys and gals,

I'm Dave from Massachusetts.

I have seen some scroll saw pages and work while trying to learn pyrography. I'm not an artist by any measure of the word but decided to try my luck at cutting. My wife and daughters bought me a Craftsman 18" saw which I've made two cuts with but haven't gotten any "lessons" first and have already learned some things here. I now know I should have cut from the middle outside instead of the out in. My first cutting was an eagle in which the eye snapped off while trying to take the tape off. I watched a Steve Good video and he used a heat gun to loosen the glue on the tape, hmmm another lesson, bought a cheap heat gun for future use. I saw a couple vids on YouTube about cutting Christmas decorations so I headed to the local craft store and bought a couple thin pieces of plywood, tried a stack cut but learned that the plywood chipped and the decoration doesn't look good. Headed down to the craft store again and got a piece of basswood to attempt my next ornament. Now to find time to get out there and cut!! LOL

So I guess my first question to everyone would be...How do I stop the chipping of the plywood, or is there a minimum thickness to avoid this? Another question I have is...Is there anyone in Western Mass that is part of the group and may let me come watch a project being made? I am definitely a hands on type learner and less of a book learner.

Thanks and thanks in advance for any tips!!

Dave M

Hello Dave and welcome to the village. There is so much knowledge and helpful folks here, you're sure to find the answer to your questions.