What to look for before buying an Excalibur scroll saw

Hello members, looking at getting my first scroll saw tonight and wanted to know what key factors I should be checking to ensure a machine is good to go. I’ve been making furniture for about 8 years and have experience with all the usual woodworking machines and their setups but know nothing about scroll saws. The machine is an Excalibur of unknown model number currently, with an approximate cost of $100 (part of a package deal)The back of the saw resembles a backwards #7 (see image below)and the machine is purple. What do I need to check to make sure it’s in good running condition? Thank you for any help you can provide.  

Edited by Breckertime

It's very old and many parts are no longer available. Contact Ray at Seyco.com for more info. If the saw is in good running condition it's probably worth the $100 but if it stops or breaks you may be out of luck. Later model Ex's are much better as long as they don't say "made in China". 

The purple saw is one of the better ones they made.. I think they were discontinued somewhere around 2000 - 2005 ish. I really don't know a lot about them other than back in the day the talk on the forums was these are one of the better made Excalibur saws. 

I'd say if it works it's probably worth $100 but I'm not sure if parts are still available for this one or not.. I'm thinking not.. but some parts I also think are shared with the saw they still make today, like the front rocker arms etc..