Iggy's Animal Puzzle Assembly Line

Iguanadon

Hi, I'm Iggy and as a relative newbie I thought I'd share my process for making my animal puzzles since I've seen some folks recently talking about them and showing what they've been making.  My current sales outlet is a weekly farmers market on Saturday's for five hours.  I average selling 26 pieces each week and since this is only a hobby for me along with my full time job I've worked at becoming efficient in my cutting process to ensure I can restock for the following Saturday.  I will spend the winter months stockpiling my top 12-15 selling items so that I won't be in this situation next year having to restock everything I sell on a weekly basis.

So, here are my steps with corresponding photos.

1)      Do a dry layout on the board doing my best to have minimal waste by aligning the various body shapes.  I snap a picture with my phone, remove the patterns, adhere my clear shelf liner paper on the board and spray adhesive on the entire surface.  Using the picture I took, I duplicate the layout, sticking the patterns in place.

2)      I then cut the long board into manageable pieces usually with 3 or 4 animals in each piece.

3)      I then cut the outline of each animal and stack 'em up.

4)      Next is to drill holes in each animal as needed for eyes, closed loop letters, etc

5)      And then it's time to start cutting each one into their puzzle pieces. I use compressed cans of air to blow the sawdust out of the fine detail cuts after removing the pattern.

6)      After I've cut 20 of them I dip each one in the mineral oil fully assembled and lay them out on a drying rack to sit for a couple of days to soak in.

7)      Tada! finished product.  I display them, then when I sell a piece, I shrinkwrap it on the spot for the customer.