2/24 How many of you do woodworking shows?

Christina

I have been doing craft shows for about 20 years. What I have made for sale has changed dramatically over the years and you have to change in order to stay up with the business as it is in West Texas and Eastern New Mexico. The best area for selling crafts is a tourist area which I am not in and the worst area is the farming community, which I am also in. You might not sell a given group of products one year and then the next year you will. What I have found out in that you need a wide selection and then there is no sure thing with that. You have to like doing it or you will only work yourself to death for nothing. ( the newscaster asked the craft show guy what he was going to do with the million dollars that he just won in the lottery. He replied that he would just keep on crafting till it was gone.)

There is too much truth in that story.

Its something I've always wanted to do. I love going to craft shows and seeing all the neat stuff people come up with. But my schedule is much too crazy to try to build up an inventory. One thing you could look into is Etsy.com. I have a storefront but have never had enough time to put anything in it...LOL. But you don't need a huge inventory to get started. I think if you have 5 or 6 pieces, you'll be just fine. It's like ebay, but for crafters. You put an item up for sale and I think it can stay in your store for 6 months or until you sell it. Costs about 20 cents to put something in the store, then naturally they take a cut of any sales, just like eBay. Really cool place. Plus its a great place to get ideas for your next project! ;)