Spiral blade suggestion

JimC

I am a relative newbie to scrolling and wanted to try out spiral blades just to see how they work. Since I have never used them before, I was wondering if someone could suggest one or two sizes of blades I should try. I will be cutting mostly plywood that will be 1/2" or less. Thanks.

As you probably already figured out, there are several options, both in size and type of spiral blades. 

For a first time try, I would suggest the flat end spirals.  They are easier to get situated securely in the clamps.  They don't come in the very small sizes like 2/0 & 3/0, but will work fine for practice and general cutting.  Once you get the feel for how spirals cut and are ready for patterns with finer detail, you can switch to something smaller.  Other spiral blades are twisted all the way to the ends and require that you untwist or otherwise flatten the ends in order to get them to seat in the clamps properly.  This isn't a big obstacle, but with the flat end spirals, you have one less issue to cause you problems as you are learning.

I still remember my first experience with spirals.  They weren't flat ended and I had a devil of a time keeping them in the clamps.  They either broke or kept popping out.  I almost gave up on them completely.  I didn't have any problem cutting with them, once I got a blade to stay in the clamp for more then 10 seconds.  After that, I avoided spirals, until I discovered that FD offered them with flat ends.  I got some of them and it was a much better experience.  Since then, I've used the 2/0 and 3/0 New Spirals for really fine detailed work.  The ends untwist fairly easily on them, but be careful, especially with the 3/0.  They are very small and fragile, so it doesn't take much to break them.

Good places to buy them are Mikes' Workshop   https://mikesworkshop.com/collections/blades

or Wooden Teddy Bear   http://www.woodenteddybearonline.com/x/home.php