Where to buy wood?

OCtoolguy

I am going to try my hand at cutting a wall plaque that will be out of 1/4" wood for both the plaque and the backer board. It measures 8 1/2" x 11". I went to Lowes today to see if I could buy some poplar in that size but 6" width is the widest they sell. Where do you suggest I look for a board that wide? Will I have to do a glue up to get it? I don't want to use BB plywood if I can help it. I have some of that in 5/16" that I am practicing. Any sources that you all can send me to? Thanks for any help.

Ray

Ocooch Hardwoods and Heritage Woods sell nice stuff.  However my experience has been., 1/2" thick is fine, any thing thinner cups.  Has happen with every piece I have purchase from Ocooch Hardwoods.  I have not purchased from Haritage.  You may be able to "un-cup" it, I have not tried yet.  I think you would be better with a glue up, alternating the grains.  Just my opinion, I am no wood expert.  I just know I have several 1/4" pieces of wood I have to figure out what to do with.  I will not buy less than 1/2" in the future and then plane it to the thickness I want.  Not ranking on Ocooch.  They have a great reputation.  Just stating my experience. 

Ray, there's no issue with using a glue-up, as long as you pretest the wood to make sure that one piece takes finish the same as the other. So as long as you test for color change and other characteristics, you shouldn't have any issues. This is what I do when I have to use a glue-up, I hate ending up with a two tone project.

Len

If you have a bandsaw you could buy a 3/4 - 1" board and resaw it.. then you have a book matched piece of lumber.. I guessing you don't have a bandsaw or a planner though..