Geetings from Alaska

Paul L

Hi everyone,

I am very new to this...in fact so new that my scroll saw I bought will finally be here tomorrow.  I bought a Dewalt 788 and ordered it through Lowe's to avoid shipping costs.  I am looking forward to scrolling as I have been watching endless you tube videos on the subject and watching many make their wonderful projects.  Since I am retired, I wanted a good hobby in the winter and I do enjoy working with wood.  I have a few books now on patterns and how to learn to scroll.  Found this site through the Inkscape tutorial (which is greatly appreciated).  Again, hi to everyone!

Hey Paul,

You'll have plenty of questions and this is the place to get answers. One of the first things to consider is blade choice. The ones that come to mind are Flying Dutchman, Pegas and Olsen. My personal choice is Flying Dutchman Polar, been using them for more than a decade now.  I would suggest getting a sample pack of each kind to find what works for you. Other than that...scroll on.......

Chris

Thanks all for your kind words...I know I will have many questions as I get going but I am looking forward to scrolling.  It is something that looks fun and relaxing.  Will be setting up a temp area this weekend for my saw.  Then I will use various blades as suggested, to start the practice patterns for a bit.

Welcome to the Village from East Tennessee Paul.  Congratulations on your new saw.  Enjoy it and be sure tp participate here regularly.  Lots of experienced users more than willing to help out as someone needs.  Lots of projects and inspirations here to try from the beginner level to the advanced.