NOOB Here

Grumpyguard

Hi all, I was gifted a new scroll saw for Christmas.  After watching some YouTube videos I purchased my first accessory for the saw.  I went to Harbor Freight and got a foot pedal.  I haven't ever used a scroll saw so I don't know where to begin.  I have little experience in wood working.  I am an avid wood turner as I have been making pens for the last few years and wanted to expand my knowledge.

I have a question regarding the patterns. 

How do you know what parts should be cut out? 

welcome to the slide to temptation.  Depends on who drew the pattern usually the dark part is left. Sometimes the artist will leave a dark or red line around the part to be left.  If you study the pattern you can visualize the parts to be left.  They are always anchored to a side .  Might say good by to your lathe. After 20 years working one I must admit I like cutting patenrs.  Try Alex Fox in Ukraine.  His patterns on Etsy are neat but challenging.  Darryl

Hello and welcome to the village from East Tn. Look forward to your participation. As noted, it depends on how the pattern designers creates the pattern.

For lots of free patterns, be sure to check out the pattern library here in the village. You will also want to check out Steve Good’s blog. 

https://www.scrollsawvillage.com/gallery/category/2-pattern-library/

https://scrollsawworkshop.blogspot.com

Welcome to the Village from North Carolina. You'll learn quickly how to select and cut patterns. As Melanie (meflick) said above, Steve Good is a pretty good place to start. His patterns seem to be a little easier. On a scale of 1 to 10, his patterns range from a 4 to 10. The patterns in the Village library are a little more complicated and I would say they range from 6 to 12. Regardless of what pattern you select, remember you are only cutting one hole at a time. It doesn't matter if the pattern has one inside cut or 2000 inside cuts, you can only cut one hole at a time.