Best working height for saw table

OCtoolguy

I am new to this hobby. I have an older DeWalt 788 with the factory stand made of steel tubing. It seems awfully tall. I'm 6'1" tall. I was wondering if some of you who might be in the same size range as me could suggest what height is best for you. I have an adjustable shop stool and even in it's lowest setting, it is too high. My saw table is high but I have put the two rear legs up on a 3" spacer to angle the saw table a bit downward. I saw this suggestion somewhere and it does make my arms more comfortable for working. But I still feel that the saw is too tall. Before I take a hacksaw to the legs, I thought I'd ask here what everybody's thoughts are. I'd appreciate any feedback you all might give. Thanks, and I really enjoy reading all the stuff you folks have to say.

Ray

Ray, I suppect this is a hard one to answer.  Simply, in my opinion depends on what feels comfortable for you.  I have tried several configurations and heights and think I am finally very comfortable with what I have.  I did not like the metal stand that came with my saw so I build mine using a part of an old kitchen cabinet someone discarded.  I originally made it with a slanted top, as you have but have since made it level, just more comfortable for me.  I do not think there is a forumla, it is trial and error.  Even more so than when working on a wood lathe.

Hi Ray:

Scrappile's reply is along the same line as I was going to say.

Sometimes I stand, other times I sit.

I do have an adjustable stool that I sit on and it never stays at the same height.

Just depends on how it's working that day.

Your the one that knows if it reals right or not.

Trial and error as mentioned above.

You'll know when you have hit your sweet spot.

The following of the line/pattern will be much easier to see and work with.

Fab4