Recycled Materials to Scroll Saw Art

Travis

I came across this etsy seller today and I thought it was really cool. He uses old skateboards and uses his scroll saw to cut out shapes for keychains and pendants. I thought it was a really clever way to make some really cool products with recycled material. So it got me wondering, what have you recycled into scroll saw art? If you haven't tried it, perhaps we can brainstorm on some recycled materials that could be used for our scroll saw art. Lets really think outside the box on this one. Get outrageous! Throw out ideas! Heck, Earth Day is coming up on April 22. This your time to think green!

And just to spice things up, I'll pony up some cheap SSV swag to be drawn at random. I'll do a drawing on May 1st from all those who participated in this thread. Lets get creative! :thumbs:

I am a teacher and just the other day I was working with a grade 7 class, the students were assigned the task of brainstorming the idea of recycling things that are not normally recycled. Amoung the many suggestions offered one student suggested that broken hockey sticks would be a good item. When asked, What could you do with a broken hockey stick? One suggestion was, where hockey sticks are made of hardwood they would be good for crafts or made into toys. Then of course I had to explain that I made things out of hardwood as a hobby and that I now had a new source of material. What a wonderful idea and what a coincidence that you should post such a question.. :thumbs:

This door plaque was made from an old toy car garage. It was on top of the rubbish bags waiting for collection when I went round to visit my friends. The child has simply grown out of that paticular toy. He's into dinosaurs now, which is why I made him this.