Time for this old dog to learn a few trick.

Papatch

Hello ladies and gentlemen I'm Ed. In 1968 I was a spanking new apprentice carpenter, so I've been working with my hands all of my adult life. I framed houses for few years then went into the residential remodel business, later my son and I switched over to home building. All this time I did the drafting and design for our projects. Eight years ago my son took over and I decided to do drafting and design full time. In order to compete I had to give up the drafting table and learn Computer Aided Design, tough work, but in time I became quite proficient. With the bursting of the housing bubble work became almost non-existent, design jobs fell from two or three a month to three or four a year. I took up bicycle repair to supplement my meager income, that took a little bit of learning too, but it is very enjoyable work. I still need more income, so now I'll give the scroll saw a try. I took up the scroll saw four weeks ago, I've watched a couple of hundred hours of video and became fascinated with the beautiful portraits some of you guys do, amazing! So that is the direction I'm headed, I plan on learning how to do scroll saw portraits. That's how I fell into this web site. I didn't get a saw until two weeks ago, finances being what they are I bought a nice hardly used Craftsman .21610, only $50 with a sturdy stand and a light. Ignorance is bliss, I can find no fault with this saw. So far I've drawn the patterns for eleven portraits, cut them out, backed them with black board and oiled them. I'm slow as all get out and have a hard time staying on the line, but as with everything, practice makes perfect. This web site is a treasure trove of good information which I hope to exploit to the fullest. In time maybe I can contribute something useful for the other members. Thanks for having me, Ed Sr.

Ed Sr.