SSV is ALIVE!

Travis

OMG, that was painful. Basically what happened, someone or a group of someones pinged SSV's front page over and over. What that does is causes a lot of CPU resources to be consumed at one time. If done to excess, it will crash the server. So my hosting company locked the website. As you all know, they weren't all that responsive to my support ticket. I eventually got them on the phone. I ended up upgrading the server package, so hopefully we won't run into this problem any longer. Once the new server was set up, the system had to reset and needed to be tested, which also took a long time.

I had to optimize the front page and strip it down. I'm not an engineer, so a lot of this stuff is way over my head. But I got something to work enough to meet their standards.  I'll be redesigning the front page in the next few weeks.

If this happens again, the next solution is for SSV to move to a dedicated server. It sounds like a good idea, except the cost of the server would increase my operating expense by about 800%. I rely on Google Ads and premium memberships to pay for the site. Unfortunately, I've seen the Google Ad money dwindle quite substantially over the last year or so. I think it's mostly due to AdBlocker, which really hurt little sites like SSV. So I certainly couldn't afford an 800% increase. So let's hope this solution does the trick.

Ugg.  Technology sucks.  But at least we're back online and can talk about making sawdust again.   :)

On a side note, did you know SSV has a Facebook page?  This is a fun place to see new projects and patterns.  It is also a great place to find the latest news on SSV.  I tried to keep everybody up to date on the status of SSV there when our system was down.  So if you're looking for the latest news, be sure to Like our page at:  https://www.facebook.com/scrollsawvillage