Frank Pellow says Hello

Frank Pellow

I’ve owned a scroll saw, an Excalibur EX30, for 12 years but, until a couple of months ago, had only used it for a total of about five hours.

Two months ago, I happened upon the ‘Seasonal Welcome Sign’ series on Sheila Landry’s web site and ordered the plans. Sawing, painting, and framing them seems to have got me hooked. I will talk about that project in another thread but, before I do that, I will introduce myself in this thread.

I am a retired software designer and developer with a forty year career, mostly with IBM and with Microsoft while residing in Ontario (Canada), Washington state (USA), and Hampshire (United Kingdom). Twelve years ago, I retired and built (by myself) a separate woodworking shed in our back garden in Scarborough, Ontario. Here is a composite photo showing both exterior and exterior views of the shed of that shed:

post-28738-0-85531700-1449717819_thumb.j

As well as our home in Southern Ontario, Margaret (my wife of 49 years) and I reside at our small island in Lake Pivabiska in Northern Ontario. I have another, smaller, woodworking shed on Pellow’s Island, but, as yet, no scroll saw.

My main hobbies are furniture making, toy/game making, construction, photography, carving (native North America north-west style), stained glass work, and (for the last two months) scroll saw art. Here are a very few examples of items I have designed and made:

Furniture (oak filing cabinets):

Game (walnut and birch crokinole board):

Construction (cedar and stone steps for our cedar log cabin):

Carving (a small cedar totem pole & a cedar bentwood box with an ash top):

Stained Glass and Woodworking (traditional style windows in walnut doors):

Construction & Stained Glass (La Bécosse with Backhouse insert):

Miscellaneous (Cherry and walnut musical jewelry box):