paints for wood crafts

rljohn56

ok, i'm not an expert on acrylic paints so i need some advice.  i bought some acrylic paint the other day from Walmart to use on a project i'm working on and come to find out this stuff is like working with colored water. I know there are oil base and water base paint but wasn't sure what would be best. Now i find there is also heavy body acrylic and light body(which is probably what i got from Walmart). It would be nice to be able to just clean up with soap and water too.  I appreciate everyone feed back in advance

I've always used Delta Creamcoat acrylic paints. I must get them from Joanne's or Michael's.  They are very thick. Have a long shelf life if sealed correctly. Thin easily and clean up with with tap water (although I use distilled water when thining). They comes in a gazillion colors. I get them in 2oz soft plastic bottles, I can squeeze out a few drops or remove the cover and get a larger volume. Finally, my bottles are labeled, Made in the USA.

I used acrylic satin house paint on all of my toys. I'd then top coat it with lacquor to give it a nice shine and a little more protection. I used to get the sample pot's but as production increased I bought 4litre cans and decanted them into 500ml containers. Much cheaper purchasing that way.

train.jpg

Edited by John B
typo

as someone said if your going to use acrylic paints do yourself a favour and get them from an art store like Michales or Deseers etc.

they cover better, usually with only one coat, they dry much faster, they don't smell near as bad as the cheap paints and they don't lose the color when you apply a coat of poly even when the cheap paint is seemingly dry.

I get mine from Michael's and I buy the large bottles of the colors I use most, they are 12.99 and I always get a 40 or 50 % coupon so really they are well worth it.

Paint from walmart and dollar stores are just not worth the trouble IMO.