Greetings from sunny Arizona

Ken Lotts

Greetings from sunny Southern Arizona!

I am new to the SSV.  I wasn't aware that it existed until just last month.

A little about me, 
I retired from the Army in 1993 (where I worked as a "96H" crew member in the OV1 Mohawk) and I retired from Valley Telephone in 2018 (where I worked as a core routing and switching technician for their ISP).

My other hobbies that compete for my time are ham radio projects (AA7JC) and endlessly cleaning my garage.  I am interested in building balsa R/C planes but I am at the early stages of getting anything in the air.  

About ten or more years ago, I stumbled on Steve Good's treasure trove on scrolling and the bug hit (thanks Steve!) so I bought a Dewalt and what a surprise when I discovered that scroll saw blades have a mind of their own.  I remember trying to cut jig saw puzzles the first time and thinking this is great, when I screw up nobody can tell (Lol!)  I made a lot of puzzles for a while (with those evil puzzle blades)

Back then, I was still working full time plus commuting three hours a day.  It was easy to get overwhelmed with life issues so my hobbies were often just a dream on the back burner.  Scrolling was one of many a dormant activities but then a few years ago I retired (for the last time) and I walked into the garage and tried to make sense of everything.  

What I discovered was that I had collected an unrealistic amount of retirement projects.

I had shelves of heavy old tube radios waiting for restoration and radio kits waiting to be built.  (You can see a few of my radio projects at the QRZ website)