New Guy Near Chattanooga

Bill H

Hello from Chattanooga!

I'm very new to scroll sawing. I have been woodworking for years. I mostly do lathe work now days.

I was recently given and old Craftsman scroll saw, BUT it saw missing a few parts. The parts needed to bring it back to life are no longer made or instock anywhere. And there are no retro kits made for the old saw.

So I ordered a Delta 40-694. For now I'm just trying to learn how to make cuts.

Bill ,congrats on the new saw! best advice I can give ,what ever blade you choose ,what ever you decide to cut ,The blade is the boss ,feed only as fast as the blade can cut smoothly .you are the feeder ,the direction and pressure you impose determines how well the cut is made ,force is not your friend ,smooth easy complete control is your job Tight tention no side pressure ,you can not force any more than the lathe ,practice hand drawn circles ,best training ,then tight corners ,and you will be amazed what you can do letters are excellent start w,thin stock then advance to thicker ,(RULE1) The Blades is boss( Rule 2) The blade is still Boss (Rule 3) refer to rule one and two !!(RULE 4) there are no EXCEPTIONS ,stupid !! Best of luck !! Carl !!

The two covered some basics!

Rule # 3 Make the saw-station comfortable for you-- lights --chair-- music-- whatever it takes to make you want to spend time there

RULE that outweighs all other RULES MKAE things YOU LIKE-- and when it PLEASES YOU That is all that matters.

Advice--into the waste area mistakes--- are easy to fix! Into the piece are harder-- but, most are still manageable.

You are going to throw some away because they are that bad! EVERYPONE else has also!

Also what works well for me --- may be not right at all for you.

Do not be afraid to try things-- start with cheap wood projects first.

The clear packing tape over the wood before putting pattern on can hide a lot of slight errors-- Also

That tape trick lubricates the blade.