Beware C.A.Glue !!

Foxfold

Today I accidentally knocked a small bottle of CA glue over whilst applying it to a break in a piece I was cutting.

It cemented my jeans to my thigh instantly and welded my Crocks and socks to my feet.  Oh boy it felt like I was on fire. The result is I now look like this 🤪  Just a photo of my foot as I'm way past the age where I flash a thigh. 🤣

CA Burn.jpg

I've been using CA for years during 40 years of model railroading. But it was used in such small amounts. Every once in while I'd get things stuck to my fingers. I tried finishing pens with CA and gave that up quickly. Your foot looks painful. I hope you heal quickly and completely.

Brenda, that looks so painful. I got burned pretty bad when I was a teenager from a steam explosion of a car radiator. It got me on my chest and under my neck and one arm. So, I know what you are feeling. I am praying you heal quickly. That burn looks like it should have a layer of Vaseline on it and a layer of gauze to keep the open air off of it.

It was the socks that caused the heat when the CA reacted to it. This is why in the pen world we use it for a finish on pens and I love it. But when applying with certain towels they will get extremely warm and even start smoking so you need to take care of discarding. Acetone or nail polish remover will dissolve it. keep it covered with a clean white cloth and use burn sav on it while it heals. Good luck. Another lesson is learned and passed on. 

Edited by JTTHECLOCKMAN

7 hours ago, Sycamore67 said:

Brenda...

I think you should see a doctor. A large burn is an invite for serious infection.

I did phone 111 ( our health service help line) and spoke to a medic.  I ran cool water over both legs  for 20 mins and then wrapped everything in clingfilm.  This morning I'm fine, the clingfilm  is keeping the air from it and I am in no pain. I will keep a close eye on it I promise.

12 hours ago, Travis said: