Hello from Illinois

Eplfan2011

Hi, thanks for the add!

I have been woodworking for 30 years and for the past few years have fancied giving scrolling a try but have never found the time.

Well times change and by chance I stumbled upon a old scrollsaw but in surprisingly good condition. It's a RBI 226vs ( square bottom blade holder and a DC motor manufactured by Dayton, which from what I've read is a Ultra made between 1994-1996) it was covered in a layer of dust. I parted with $100 and took it home and gave it a thorough clean and a coat of wax, oiled the rear cam and tested it out. It runs quietly with no vibration. I've ordered the blower lockline kit for it and some new knobs as the upper blade holder knob is cracked. Got about $150 in it now and some time, I feel like this could be a good start to a new hobby! 

Now I just have to practice lol

Warm welcome from California.

I got the same machine 1.5 yrs ago. 

Some guy here @OCtoolguy helped me buy it.  I had some entry level saw before but had struggles. I had never really tried the types of art.  Intarsia, fretwork, puzzles.  But when I did I found entry level just did not work for me.  So I upgraded.  Now I dont worry about the machine and I can focus on making stuff. 

The 26inch comes in handy.  

But this village has some really skilled people (elders and youngters) and they answered many of my questions.   Even my stupid questions. 

I learned alot in 1.75 years. 

5 minutes ago, preprius said:

Warm welcome from California.

I got the same machine 1.5 yrs ago. 

Some guy here @OCtoolguy helped me buy it.  I had some entry level saw before but had struggles. I had never really tried the types of art.  Intarsia, fretwork, puzzles.  But when I did I found entry level just did not work for me.  So I upgraded.  Now I dont worry about the machine and I can focus on making stuff. 

The 26inch comes in handy.