Motor in rear

rjweb

Yeah, I'm no engineer either but most all the saws with the motor in the rear that I know of also have a very complex contraption consisting of flimsy metal arms / rods with several pivot points.. Do they run smoother throughout the whole range on the speed dial.. Yes.. they have little short arms at the front of the saw that all that complex linkage connects too. Most these type saws have anywhere from 14 - 20 small bearings.. A lot of pivot points..

Saws like the Hawk and Hegner have anywhere from 4 - 6 bearings.. but they also have a lot of mass moving, especially with those large 26" saws.. that moving mass is going to have some harmonic spots where vibration is inevitable at certain speeds.. But very little to go wrong.. no flimsy rods and way less pivot points. 

The double parallel link design does incorporate a lot of pivot points that are subject to wear.  Despite this, it appears to be the most dominant and popular design in scroll saws today.  The question is, does this design offer other enough benefits to make it more attractive to users, such that they are willing to accept the ramifications of that wear?    It would seem the answer is yes.

1 hour ago, Bill WIlson said:

The double parallel link design does incorporate a lot of pivot points that are subject to wear.  Despite this, it appears to be the most dominant and popular design in scroll saws today.  The question is, does this design offer other enough benefits to make it more attractive to users, such that they are willing to accept the ramifications of that wear?    It would seem the answer is yes.

I think a lot of that also is to do with price range.  

1 hour ago, Bill WIlson said: