Ed, from Ontario, Canada

patrol681

Hi everyone, I Just wanted to introduce myself, as a new member. I have been a wood working hobbyist for a little while, but am an old guy (83) with arthritic problems which don't help my standing around. I figured that if I could continue my woodworking hobby in any way, it would likely be in scroll sawing, since I feel I could do that while seated.  I have been researching scroll saws online, and think that the DeWalt 788 seems like the best choice for me.  I don't want to go on too long about this, because I am probably in the wrong section of the forum to discuss this.  However, I am wondering now, since I have read that the Excalibur, and the DeWalt were both originally made by the Sommerville company, but have now been lately manufactured in an Asian country, and that quality control has deteriorated.  I will search further in the forum and see what I can learn, and will then update my intro. when I decide on which saw, and then make my purchase 

Hi fellow Canuk

I am on the other side of the GTA just north of Whitby in Brooklin.

Our club has 7 of the DeWalts and I have and Excalibur at home.  I have use both quite a bit but I still prefer my Ex-21.  I have the foot switch on the EX-21 and that does make a difference.  I have had my EX-21 for almost 4 years and the only time I a problem with the clamp I called general in Montreal and they sent me a new clamp the next day.

We have not have had any issues with the Dewalts and they do get a work out. 

I think it really depends on your budget.  I got mine from Federated in London when the Kitchener Wood Show was on as they had a 10% off deal plus they shipped it for free.  Check with them to see what they will offer.  You often see used Dewalts for sale on Kijiji or Cralglist.

Good luck

Welcome to the Village

Don