A lesson re-learned

Bill WIlson

I've been scrolling for many years now, but every once in a while, I have to re-learn what should be a common sense lesson.

I'm cutting animal and dinosaur puzzles for our club to donate to Toys for Tots next month.  It was a good way to use a bunch of off-cuts and scraps that I've had laying around.  I used cherry, sassafras, white oak, beech, sycamore & walnut.  All of the pieces are at least 3/4" thick, with a few closer to 7/8".  All was going well, until I got to one dinosaur puzzle in a piece of cherry.  As soon as I started cutting, the wood started smoking.  I was using a new #5 Olson MS blade and they had been working well, up until that point.  I figured it was a lemon, so I put in another fresh one and it did the same thing.  I then switched over to an #5 FD UR.  Same thing.  I only cut one piece out of the puzzle and it burned the whole way.  I set the blank aside and went on to other patterns, in other woods, with no more problems.