Frustrating beginnings

Edward Henry

Hi, I am VERY new to wood working and sadly chose a way above my level first project, though I am determined to try and finish it. My main issue is that I do not cut along the lines and make all those sharp turns I see in youtube videos as I am terrified I will snap the blade or damage the project so I been hogging out the large sections then barely touching the edge of the blade I scrape away the excess to the line as smoothly as I can as a result it takes me forever to do anything. my first project is a wolf image that I think I am over 15 hours on that I am sure the pros can finish in a few hours. and I am not 1/3 finished yet. I am hoping to find local scrollers to come walk me through this and past my fear but until I do are there any suggestions?

I already learned that I should not have cut out the largest sections first but cut the smaller details in middle and work my way out. as a result of cutting large first it is more difficult to do the small details but hey! I learned it all by myself LOL. I can not recall what size blades I swap between a flat 0/2?? and a spiral but my spiral is too large for the finer details of the fur so already messed up alot.

image1.jpeg

image2.jpeg

Edited by Edward Henry
forgot info

1 hour ago, Edward Henry said: