New Scrollers - Try puzzles - AHA Moments on the Horizon

new2woodwrk

Just a few words of advice for new scrollers - If you haven't already done so, try cutting some puzzles.

I've been scrolling now for just over 3 months and tackled my first Puzzle the other day. It was a scary attempt since I've previously looked at them as being a very advanced technique. In many ways they are advanced, however well worth the effort to attempt.

Here's why...

I used some recycled 1 x 3" Pine wood I had and joined 2 pieces together to make one 5 x 7" board for the puzzle

I cut the puzzle on a slow speed, but not the slowest speed since the wood was 3/4" thick

During the cutting of the puzzle I started to experience a few "AHA" moments.

What was happening was, I started to realize and was able to "feel" how much pressure to put on the project against the blade to make cuts through the project.

While I had been able to feel the pressure amount on other projects, the puzzle project really accented this due to all the twisting and curves involved in cutting the puzzle.

Which brings me to another "AHA" moment.

Because there are so many curves in puzzle projects, I started to realize how to push and "relax" the push into curves.

It was kind of like a swimming motion doing the curves... Push slightly as I turned into a curve and relax the push coming out of the curve to get back on line for the next curve or straight away. It became very rhythmical during the curves which translated into nice tight curves following the lines.

Did I stay EXACTLY on every line? No, but it didn't matter because the motion of the cutting through the curve became fluid and when completed the puzzle pieces fit together very well!

It was a very eye opening experience.

One of the last "AHA" moments I experienced were Points or the tips of curves.

Many of the curves ended in sharp points and continued into other curves with points, similar to waves.