Charles Hand Introduction

Charles Hand

Let me start by apologizing for not introducing myself before. I believe that I have been a member of Scroll Saw Village for about 2 years now. I was born just outside of Montreal, Quebec, Canada. Now reside in Southern Ontario, Canada not too far from Niagara Falls. My background is engineeering design, both mechanical and electrical. I also have an extensive background within the graphic arts fields. I am dating myself here. I started drawing professionally way back in 1972 within the Telecommunication fields. Space program, Satellites, etc. I was also designated graphic arts designer therefore was very involved with all company artwork and brochures. Let me not forget photography as I was also the company photographer as well. Moving on, the first computer for me was purchased by the company I worked for in 1984. Autocad was only becoming popular then and I was nominated as the pioneer within our company for this new style of engineering design. Before that, everything was drawn by hand, drafting board, etc.. I was actually using this program before General Motors and was asked by some of the engineering staff at GM to show them how this program worked. Over the years, the company purchased more programs for me. Coreldraw, Photoshop, Illustrator to name a few. In 2004, I was at a local Home Depot where there was this old guy (probably my current age) demonstrating a scroll saw. We talked for a little bit and I was hooked. I think it was only a day later that I went out to Sears and purchased my first scroll saw. Craftsman 16". soon after that, I purchased a Pro Craftsman 20". I ordered books, magazines you name it and anything to do with scroll saw. Within months, I was already cutting my first advanced portrait. Because of my extensive drawing background, I started to design my own patterns in 2005, but not using a computer. I drew them by hand from photos that I took. Sat for hours in our living room while watching TV an