Olson vs Flying Dutchman

I've now cut with both. One thing I will say, is that I like that Olson blades are not coated with any type of oil. It annoys me to have to clean each one before I use it. I haven't really seen any "this one cuts better than that one", but then again, I'm still new to scrolling in general. I mainly use Olson #5 reverse tooth or #2 reverse tooth. I am going to be starting my first portrait cut soon now that I got some #67 drill bits, and the pin chuck from sloans, so I can do it all on my drill press.

What does everyone do about the oil on the FD blades, and which FD blade do you all use for cutting portraits in 1/4" BB ply.. #2r or #2/0R? I have some #2/0 skip reverse tooth ones. For FD, do you recommend SR or UR blades?

I have been cutting with the FD blades for over 10 years and never had to clean the clamps because of oil.

Most people like to use a spiral balde for cutting portraits. The FD-NS # 2/0 is used the most for that.

Some people tried bout the SR and the UR, some have stayed with the SR however the UR is noe my biggest seller.

Go to my web site for a lot of help. Like Selecting a Blade, Q & A and Tips and Tricks. Any questions, email me and I will be glad to help.

FD Mike

I use #3&5 SR blades for most of my cuttings. I'll also use #2 spiral blades for portraits. I use only FD. Theyve worked really well for me, so I never bothered looking at other brands. I think if you stick with the big 3, you'll be good (FD, Olson, Pegas).

Never heard of Pegas. I think it was a #1 spiral I ordered.. I can't even remember. LOL. I'm gettin old! The only thing I don't like about the oil on the FD ones are I'm afraid of getting the oil on the blade tightening knob or having some on my fingers and picking up the work piece and getting some of the oil on the bottom wood..