New here -- from South Louisiana

James E. Welch

Hi all !! I have been a woodworker for pretty much my whole life (42 years young), well certainly as soon as I could hold a toy saw anyway. LOL 

I got into scrollsawing back in the early 2000's when I'd saved enough money to buy myself a craftsman scroll saw. I know that doesn't sound like a huge deal but at the time I was a young father with 2 kids both in diapers. We lived in a rented mobile home and I used the back porch with a tarp wrapped around it as my workshop. If you dropped anything chances are it would roll into a crack between the deck boards and be gone forever. :) There was no power outlets so I tapped into the outside light fixture with one of those screw in things that give you an outlet. If anyone turned off the switch I was in the dark and my tool stopped. :)

Fastforward many years and I have a full shop. I wore out the craftsman scroll saw years ago and only just recently bought a new saw. I went with the 16" king industrial which seems to be similar to the excalibur, pegas and excellsior -- although I'm still not clear on the differences. 

Oh, and I also 3d print and designed a better vac attachment for my saw that works pretty well. (I'm sort of proud of it) LOL 

Resized_20230619_110828.jpg

Resized_20230619_110834.jpg

Resized_20230619_110843 (002).jpg

2 hours ago, clocks and more said:

Can't see how it cathes the bottom dust.

Actually, it really does not need to take much from the bottom, as a monster like that on top will take 95%+ of the dust.  I have a smaller one and hopefully will be going larger myself. I also modified the bottom too, so I can get better dust collection from the bottom increasing the cross-vacuum flow.

Here's my setup with a top vac.

square.jpg

Edited by rafairchild2

1 hour ago, rafairchild2 said: