New to Scrolling

Liz Weir

I just got a scroll saw (RBI Hawk 226) and have barely had a chance to turn it on as yet. I've been doing creative stuff all my life - sewing, drafting sewing patterns, I am a master level costumer (historical), I've been doing commercial embroidery digitizing for 25 years, and more. If I'm not learning, I'm bored, so I keep picking up new hobbies to learn. Looking forward to this new adventure! 😍

Welcome to the village. I am Mark from California. I too have the 26" Hawk.  Nice choice.

With your introduction, you will pick up scrollsaw fast.  Then we can see some of your ideas. 

It is always fun to learn from masters :)

Feel free to ask dumb questions. I did a lot.  I still do.  But this village likes to help.  

Edited by preprius

Welcome Liz to the Village. From what I hear, you have a great saw. Like you, I’ve done a variety of different crafting and learning over the years. While I do have embroidery machines, I have stayed away from learning the digitizing my own patterns. As far as sewing, I’ve done some basic stuff, but left the real sewing to my mom who was the expert. It was when I lost her to Alzheimer’s that I turned to the scroll saw. That was soon to be 8 years ago.

Liz, I'm Jerry from Colorado.  No kidding, you have come to the right place. Lot of help here and you will keep learing. With your background you will have no trouble with the scroll saw. From what I hear seamtreesses make great scrollers. I used to watch my wife sew and picked up a few tricks I could do with the scroll saw.  One other thing, scrolling is verrrrry addictive as others have said. You will find that with other chores you have to do, you can hardly wait so you can get to scrolling. There is always something to learn, something new. Welcome to the Village, you will be happy here and you will not get bored.

Jerry

• 2 weeks later...